Support for Robin’s re-election from 10 former Mayors, MPs, and sports stars

Robin Walker has today received confirmation that his nomination papers have been formally submitted and his deposit accepted to be the Conservative Parliamentary Candidate for Worcester.

He has expressed his delight at the fact that his nomination forms were signed by no less than ten former Mayors of the city as well as two distinguished Worcester based members of Parliament who are standing down at this election. The proposer on the first form was The Rt Hon Stephen Dorrell, who gave Robin his first job in politics as a driver during the 1997 election campaign, and who has been MP for Charnwood for many years as well as being a well respected former Health Secretary and Chairman of the Health Select Committee. Stephen Dorrell grew up in Worcester where his family owned the Russell and Dorrell department store and the Faithful overalls business and is still a resident in the city. Sir Peter Luff, who was MP for Worcester from 1992 to 1997 before serving as MP for Mid Worcestershire from 1997 to 2015 was the seconder. He served for many years as Chairman of the Trade & Industry Select Committee, whose heir is the BIS Committee on which Robin served in the last Parliament and was also a Defence Minister in the Coalition. Under their names were seven former mayors of Worcester and the current Deputy Mayor, Roger Knight.

The second nomination paper was signed by a range of supporters who have come from outside the political field and even from beyond the Conservative party such as Mike Layland the former Labour and Independent Mayor of Worcester, Pam Clayton, a former Labour Councilor and Deputy Head in Warndon, and Barry MacGabban, formerly the chairman of the Worcester Liberal Democrats, who has recently joined the Conservatives. It was also signed by local sports stars Craig Gillies of the Worcester Warriors and Tim Curtis of Worcestershire County Cricket Club as well as the actor and arts campaigner Ben Humphrey, who has endorsed Robin’s campaign for re-election today. Other signatories include local businessmen and the former Chairman of the Worcester Swimming Club.

The third was signed by local Conservative Councilors including Simon Geraghty the leader of the City Council and deputy leader of Worcestershire County Council and Marc Bayliss, his Deputy leader who joined the Conservatives from Labour shortly after Robin’s election in 2010, along with a number of sitting Conservative councilors, Andy Stafford the Conservative Candidate for Claines signed the form. Amongst the Councilors were former Mayors Allah Ditta and Robert Rowden, bringing the total of former Mayors up to ten.

Commenting on the signatures Robin said

“I am truly humbled to have won support from so many distinguished figures in Worcester politics and to have won the backing of many people who were not traditionally Conservatives. I am especially proud to have won the support of so many of our civic leaders who have served Worcester so well over many years. I want to continue to serve as Worcester’s MP because I believe profoundly in this city and I want to play my part in insuring that it has a bright future. It has been a real honour to represent Worcester for the last five years and I am delighted that these leading figures in the city have backed me for my record as MP.”

Notes to editors

The full list of signatories to Robin Walker’s nomination forms are as follows:

Form 1
Proposer: Rt Hon Stephen Dorrell
Seconder: Sir Peter Luff

David Tibbutt, Mayor of Worcester in 2011/12
Cllr Lucy Hodgson, Mayor of Worcester in 2008/9
Cllr Andrew Roberts Mayor of Worcester in 2009/10
Stephen Inman, Mayor of Worcester in 2007/8
Cllr Roger Knight, Deputy Mayor of Worcester 2014/15
Cllr Derek Prodger, Mayor of Worcester 1998/99
Cllr Gareth Jones, Mayor of Worcester in 2003/4
David Clark, Mayor of Worcester in 2001/2

Form 2
Proposer: Mike Layland, Mayor of Worcester in 1982/83 & 2012/13, former Labour & Independent Councilor
Seconder: Barry MacGabban, Former Chair of Worcester Liberal Democrats

Pam Clayton, Former Labour Councilor for Warndon & Deputy Head of Elgar Tech College
Chris Rimmell, husband to Adele, local campaigner and activist
Adele Rimmell, Treasurer & Former Chair of the Worcester Swimming Club
Craig Gillies, Worcester Warriors star & Patron of the Worcester Wolves BBL team
Tim Curtis, Former Worcestershire County Cricket Club Captain & England cricketer
Ian Whiting, Founder of Titania Cyber security
John Gibson, Surveyor, Rotarian and chairman of Wooden Spoon for the West Midlands
Ben Humphrey FRSA, Actor, Worcester Live producer, Associate Director of Worcester Rep &
Artistic Director Worcester Festival, Former Chair of Battle of Worcester Society

Form 3
Proposer: Cllr Simon Geraghty, Leader of Worcester City Council, Deputy Leader of County Council
Seconder: Cllr Marc Bayliss, Deputy Leader of Worcester City Council

Cllr Stephen Hodgson
Cllr Allah Ditta, Mayor of Worcester in 2004/5
Cllr Mike Johnson
Andrew Stafford, Conservative Candidate for Claines
Cllr Robert Rowden, Mayor of Worcester 2002/3
Cllr Steve MacKay
Cllr Matt Lacey
Cllr Mike Whitehouse